Making the Most of Your Summer Break

The months between Memorial Day and Labor Day are brimming with possibilities and opportunities. You have over three months to do with as you please. As college students, we have a couple options; internships, summer classes, travel/study abroad, or summer job.

Ideally, I would be traveling around the globe this summer; perhaps hiking in Australia or wandering around Morocco. Seeing as I just got back from a semester in Italy that was financially out of the question. I should be interning somewhere to make the real person job search I must commence next May that much easier but that one didn’t pan out in my favor either. So now, I’m back in my hometown, working the summer job I have had for the past four years.

If I’m being honest that doesn’t bum me out as much as it probably should. Working an easy summer job means you have the time and energy for summer shenanigans and maybe even a transformation.

  
Replenish that bank account: Every internship I applied for would make me less than my gig lifeguarding. And, many internships college students accept are unpaid. Studying abroad and summer classes drain your funds instead of building them. After two semesters of late night pizza, alcohol, and the necessary retail therapy that finals always requires, that bank account could use a little love.

Get back on that health grind: I, like most college students, have a tendency to let my health fall to the wayside at school. When I’m stressed all I want is chocolate. And how can I be expected to get up and run when I’m too hungover to even get out of bed? Sober me knows how bad greasy pizza is for me and my skin but drunk me wants all of it and she wants it now. Summer at home is a great time to focus on working out and eating healthy without the temptation that you find on a college campus. I even made one of my friends become my cyber workout partner because if we use snapchat to guilt each other into working out there might actually be results. 

Reconnect with old friends: After freshman year of college, you’re still talking to most of your friends from high school and meeting up for weekly bonfires in the summer. By the end of sophomore year you’ve narrowed it down to only a few really good friends from high school. By the time you’re done with junior year, there are tons of people from your past that you haven’t talked to or seen in years. Take your relationship from a “like” on their new profile picture to brunch where you catch up on all the amazing things you’ve been up to since you graduated.

Pursue your passions: The wonderful thing about summer jobs that differs from school or internships is that when you leave for the day, you’re done. You don’t spend the night thinking about work or having to take work home with you. Once you leave, you are free. Take this extra, stress-free time to do the things you always want to do but never have the time for- crafting, writing, learning to play guitar, reading whatever it is #justdoit

Make strides in the professional world: Also with this stress-free time, take a few beats to work toward your professional goals. Contact and shadow someone with a job that you would love to have one day. Polish your resume so it’s ready for whatever pops up, whenever it pops up. Create a portfolio that shows off all the amazing work you’ve done so far and how  capable you are.

Have all the shennanigans: As a rising senior this very well may be my final summer break and I vow to take that very seriously. Create a bucketlist of all the things you want to do this summer. Have fun with your friends and family in the sun. Go on a day trip, road trip, beach trip, any kind of trip- just go. Summer break was invented to unwind from the stessful year you just had so kick back and relax this summer.

My summer bucketlist
Leave a Reply

